Welcome to the Lexington Vintage Dance Society

about us
about vintage dance
dance opportunities
let us dance for you
romantic music cd
regency music cd
contact us

A Romantic Revel

Lexington Vintage Dance is proud to offer for sale our second collection of historic dance music. When we released our "Regency Romp" CD in 2005, it was our intention to follow it with a "Romantic Revel" at a later date. It never occurred to us, however, that we would be able to fill a CD entirely with music by Kentucky composers---and not just music, but actual "gems of the ballroom," music that compares with any popular music of the period.

Arranged in a style authentic to the era, it is a delight for listeners as well as dancers and provides a rare glimpse into another age and sensibility in Kentucky, one that few today would suspect existed.

Local names abound in the titles of the compositions and should warm the hearts of natives in suitable fashion.

If one has any taste for music of the Romantic Age, or even the mildest curiosity, then this collection is not to be missed under any circumstances.

---Merrell Fuson, Artistic Co-Director

Arranger: Nikos Pappas. Conductor: Kelly Sikorski.
Musicians: Brice Farrar- violin 1, Anna Hess and Jessica Tzou - violin 2, Rebecca Kiekenapp - cello, Merrilee Elliott - flute and piccolo, Mike Acord - clarinet, Joel Crawford - cornet, Nathan Miller - bariotone saxhorn, Jay Flippin and Larry Crawford - piano.

Click on the song titles to listen to a small portion of that song.

To listen you will need either Quicktime or Windows Media Player. Both of these are free.

Quicktime Download Quicktime

Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player


Disc One
  1. Grand March Medley (8:30)
  2. Charming Waltz (2:50)
  3. Kentucky Polka (2:07)
  4. Bonhorst Hop Waltz (2:39)
  5. The Louisville Gallopade (2:23)
  6. Black Diamond Polka Mazurka (2:13)
  7. Kentucky Capitol Hotel Polka (2:29)
  8. Fayette Waltz (3:11)
  9. Lexington Waltz (3:43)
  10. Lurely Mazurka (1:53)
  11. Quince Mazurka (2:29)
  12. The Galt House Schottisch (4:22)
  13. Kentucky Girls Polka (2:57)
  14. La Belle de Louisville Polka (3:00)
Disc Two
  1. Mammoth Cave Waltz (3:11)
  2. Our American Cousin Polka (3:25)
  3. The Veto Galop (3:11)
  4. Ashland Quadrilles: The Mill Boy (2:56)
  5. Ashland Quadrilles: The Farmer (3:00)
  6. Ashland Quadrilles: The Senator (2:06)
  7. Ashland Quadrilles: The Patriot (3:42)
  8. Ashland Quadrilles: The Kentucky Gentleman (2:50)
  9. Belle of the Opera Mazurka (2:44)
  10. Ione Mazurka (2:09)
  11. The Newport Schottisch (2:22)
  12. Nazareth Gallopade Quadrille (3:18)
  13. Waverly Polka (2:16)
  14. Coup d'Amour Polka (1:56)
  15. Bostonia Polka Mazurka (2:57)
  16. Newport Polka (2:38)
  17. Cincinnati Polka Mazurka (2:35)
  18. Reels: Grey Eagle and Wagner (5:00)

Total playing time: 97:05

Included on the CD are PDF files with program notes by the arranger, an essay on the dancing of the period, and hints on using the CD for a ball.

To order your cherished copy on-line using PayPal or a credit card, click on the Buy Now button above. To order by mail, send a check payable to LVD to the address on our contacts page. Cost is $20 per 2-CD set, plus $3.50 shipping inside the US. For other shipping situations, please inquire. Kentucky residents add 6% sales tax.

Schools and other institutions in Kentucky that are exempt from paying Kentucky sales tax may order CDs by mailing an order with payment ($20 per CD-set plus shipping) to Lexington Vintage Dance, c/o Michael French treasurer, 3480 Keene Road, Nicholasville, KY 40356. Please include a copy of your sales tax exemption certificate.


Please mark your calendar for October 13-15, 2023 when we will have our first in-person waltz weekend with Richard Powers since 2019! Registration will open on Saturday, August 19 at Noon.

See more about the waltz weekend.

  Our Romantic CD is here!

  Our Regency CD is here!

  Donate to LVD!